A little less conversation, a little more stitching

I’ve just come back from a lovely quilty weekend with 7 friends. This is the 3rd year we’ve been away to The Parsonage and this year we spent Saturday at Threadbear working together on applique designs. Corliss is a fantastic teacher, able to help the newbies as well as teach some of us with a bit more experience some new techniques and tips.

As usual, at the end of the day I had almost nothing to show for it, except a couple of pieces pinned to my background, but it was fascinating to see the different applique blocks people made, interpreting the design using their own fabrics.

Apart from working on some Morell quilt blocks, as well as starting to sew down the binding on a 1930s quilt, I spent a lot of time over the weekend stitching this lovely cross-stitch sampler. Had hoped to finish it at the weekend, but found that talking and stitching does not accuracy make! Had to do some unpicking on Monday and finished this tonight.

imag0625

This sampler is available from Alma Allen from Blackbird Designs blog and I’m going to give it to Mum.    It was stitched on Ivory 28ct Evenweave using Threadworx Cherry Cola thread.   I enjoyed this so much, I bought some more Threadworx thread at Quilters Bazaar on Friday – going to have a go at making one for me using either Threadworx Peppermint (red/pink) or Bleeding Hearts (red!)

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for a lovely weekend, I love the little x-stitch, will have to do one myself!

  2. Thanks for sharing the sampler & where to find it. It looks really good.

  3. […] my friend Catherine made for everyone at our retreat this year.   The other shows a glimpse of the Blackbird Design Sampler cross-stitch – the 2nd of these I’m making (this one’s for me).   And that […]

Leave a Reply

