Dresdens in the Barn…

Well The Parsonage Dresden Plate Exchange is off and running… with 6 of the 9 girls meeting at the annual Quilts in the Barn on Saturday.

I showed you my sample blocks last post and you can see Jayne’s blocks here, so I’ve posted another couple of the girls blocks.

First off is Catherine’s yummy red, green, brown DresdenIMG_0144

And then Megan’s gorgeous red and white one… this is huge, blocks will be about 21 inches finished, and Megan is a newbie quilter, so this is her first Dresden. This is the first one I get to make… and I have the perfect red and whites in my stash… which is sort of disappointing, was looking forward to a shopping spree of red and whites.

IMG_0146

I’ve been so enthused with the making of my Dresden’s I’ve prepped and made up another 5 plates… as I knew I’d be handing over my template until next May… will post photo’s for this week’s flaunt.

Quilts in the Barn this year featured the quilts of Margaret McDonald… I’ve got Margaret’s Exuberance: Princess Feather quilt pattern and starter pack ready to go (have had it for a couple of years… sigh… oh to have more time!).

There were lots of lovely quilts, but I particularly liked these…

IMG_0140

Aren’t the colours in this Lone Star quilt stunning!

IMG_0143

A gorgeous Lover’s Knot quilt

IMG_0139

And a close-up of a stunning Irish Chain quilt

5 Responses

  1. The Lover’s Knot quilt is especially interesting to me. I have been considering making one.

  2. very pretty work on all the quilts.
    Karen
    http://karensquilting.com/blog/

  3. You’re lucky to have seen the quilts in person. They are stunning. Love the red and white dresdens, I’m such a sucker for red and white.

  4. Love the Dresden Plats and the Lovers Knot. I bet you can’t wait until next May to get your blocks back.

  5. […] up to date with The Parsonage Dresden Plate Exchange – I’m working on Kylie’s at present … you can see one of her blocks below, […]

Leave a comment