Staycation Day 3 … every little stitch

Well my plans for a blog post a day have already fallen over…

Never mind… have managed to use needle and thread every day…

Zen de Jour

Friday night at Mum’s I finished stitching the Winter Carnation stocking – this means I’ve finished my commitment  for Yoyo’s Christmas Design SAL for this month, though I may try to start another of the stockings by the end of the month.

Blackbird Designs, By The Chimney with Care, Stitches and Spice Wintered Marble 32ct Belfast Linen, The Gentle Arts Thread, Apple Cider, Antique Rose, Avocado, Cornhusk

And because I was still in a cross stitching mood, on returning home and loading up the VCR with more X files episodes, I continued on with South Seas Lace, that I am doing as a SAL with Claire and Sandra.  Completed another long side – only problem is I can’t remember which side is up, and it doesn’t really matter design wise, except I suspect my stitches are angling different ways!

Reading de Jour

The Pagan Stone by Nora Roberts – this was a re-read, the final book in the Sign of Seven Trilogy.   I was telling a friend about them awhile ago, and she asked to borrow the series.  Found the first two books on my bookshelf, Blood Brothers and The Hollow – but couldn’t find the last book, until I found it when searching for something else the other day.

This trilogy tells the story of 3 boys, all born on the same day, when celebrating their 10th birthday together unwittingly unleash demonic forces on their town.   For seven days every seven years, strange things happen in Hawkins Hollow.    Each book focuses on one of the 3 men 21 years later, and the women that come into their lives to help stop The Seven.   Typical Roberts romance with a good mix of paranormal suspense.   This is not the best of the trilogy… the first two books are better, but still a great holiday read.

Work in Progress Show n’ Tell

I realised I hadn’t posted a photo of a recent block finish.   I’m recieving Rosalie Quinlan’s It’s a Redwork Christmas each month from Under the Mulberry Tree, and finished Block One’s stitchery ages ago, but forgot to post photo.    Will get the block put together when Mum is here with the machine first week in January.

This was great fun, even though the blanket stitch (which is actually all back stitch) took an age – and all of the 9 blocks have this trim!!!   I’ve discovered I enjoy stitching (and cross stitch) where you are just working with one colour rather than constantly having to change colours.

Have blocks 2 and 3, and want to get stuck into those, but need to get my Holly Jolly Christmas Swap blocks finished first – which is what I’ll be working on for the next little while.

One Response

  1. Love that you have done a couple of updates on your beautiful blog. So busy too….enjoy every last day of your Staycation!

Leave a Reply

