Tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet…

Remember in my last post I mentioned that Alicia and Pip were/ had compiled reading lists?

Well, Pip has set up a Book Club with people choosing one or both of two books to read over the next couple of months…

One of which, is Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery.   The other is Cate Kennedy’s The World Beneath.

Am definitely going to read Anne, as I have the whole Anne of Avonlea series and The World Beneath also sounds like a fascinating read.

Now, to tell you a convulated story about me and Anne Shirley.  

I missed these books growing up, was too enamoured with the March sisters in Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, Eleanor H Porter’s Pollyanna and Susan Coolidge’s What Katy Did

So my first exposure to Anne, Marilla, Matthew and Gilbert was the wonderful TV Miniseries of the same name and it’s sequels.   Loved Megan Follows as Anne, and especially loved Colleen Dewhurst as Marilla – wow what a wonderful actress she was!

Flash forward to 1988… and due to a recently developed but mild case of groupiedom for the bank Noiseworks (really a bit of a crush on Jon Stevens, if I’m honest!)… and meeting and hanging out with the band in Melbourne, a friend and I were invited to the launch of their second album to be filmed for MTV Australia in Sydney.   

The only way we could manage it was to travel by train overnight to Sydney, spend the day there, attend the launch concert that night, and then travel back to Melbourne the next evening by train – staying awake all the way.  

So hence, I needed some reading material… so what did this mid ’20s year old girl, whose wardrobe consisted of nothing but black, right down to the undies and socks, with a wild mix of permed red/brown hair almost to my waist and kohled eyes buy to read but Anne of Green Gables…. gee I’m a dag!

Which I happily read sitting up on the train on the way up and back!   Have never read the book again, and haven’t read any of the other books… so am looking forward to reaquanting myself with Miss Shirley and friends in the coming months.

2 Responses

  1. You’ll adore them, they’re brilliant. I still have a re-read every now and then. One of my other faves is Wind in the Willows, which I read for the first time when I was (ahem) 35.

  2. I love the television series of Anne of Green Gables and Avonlea. I rent the Avonlea series a couple times a year to watch them and never tire of them. I read Anne of Green Gables years ago but not the complete series.

Leave a comment